BONNIE A. BERNS, P.A.
1360 N. U.S. Highway 1
Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Florida is a no-fault state. This means that under state law neither driver is at fault in a car accident for insurance purposes. Each insurance company will cover the injury claims for their insureds under their Personal Injury Protection (PIP) policy. Currently, the maximum coverage for PIP is $10,000. Unfortunately, the medical costs alone for most serious car accident injuries exceed the maximum PIP coverage. However, Florida’s no-fault law doesn’t mean that the driver who caused the accident is free of personal liability. An injured party can seek the assistance of an experienced car accident attorney to recover damages from the negligent driver(s). But in order to receive the maximum compensation for their injuries, the injured party must seek medical attention within 14 days of the car accident.
A slip and fall accident can happen anywhere when you least expect it. While shopping at the grocery store, pumping gas at a convenience store, walking up the steps of an apartment building or even in someone’s home. Depending on the extent of the fall, it can result in substantial injuries and expensive rehabilitation costs, especially for elderly individuals. You may have a personal injury case if your slip and fall was due to the negligence of the property owner, which is why it is important to consult with a slip and fall attorney as soon as possible to review the case. For example, if you fall on a slippery floor, the owner can be held liable if it is proven that the owner knew the floor was slippery and failed to correct the problem.
Visit our website or call (386) 672-4040 to schedule a free case evaluation with an experienced personal injury lawyer serving Deltona, FL today!.